What are the main types of gemstones?

Stones (or gemstones) are highly sought after by consumers interested in quality accessories. A good jewelry store offers both classic and contemporary pieces that are adorned with them. However, do you know what types of gemstones every store should have? In this post, you will learn the difference between precious and semi-precious stones and discover which gemstones can’t be missing from your jewelry store. Check out! What is Agate Stone? History, Properties, Benefits

What is the difference between precious and semi-precious stones?

These designations are much more commercial than scientific, as there is nothing in the composition to justify the difference. Historically, the denomination “precious” was given only to the diamond, ruby, emerald, and sapphire, most coveted since antiquity. This separation, therefore, had nothing to do with strength or rarity, diamond, for example, is more available in nature than other semiprecious stones. Therefore, the most accepted term nowadays is “gem”. Each of them is evaluated according to resistance to physical and chemical factors, occurrence in nature, special optical effects, and specific weight, among other characteristics. Natural gemstones are classified as:

  • Amorphous: volcanic glass, opal;
  • Organic: pearl, amber, coral;
  • Rocks: turquoise, lapis lazuli;
  • Crystals: diamonds, emerald, aquamarine.

Most of them are minerals, that is, “manufactured” without animal or human interference by a process that can take up to millions of years. Every mineral gem is considered precious, although the four cardinals (diamond, ruby, emerald, and sapphire) are generally the most expensive. According to the CPRM Portal, organic, non-mineral gemstones are not considered gemstones, it is also for this reason that jewelry experts prefer to ignore the term “stone”. There are also those manufactured in laboratories, called:

  • Artificial: no counterpart in nature, such as cubic zirconia;
  • Synthetic: “clones” of natural ones, such as synthetic emerald.

What are the main types of gemstones?

Among so many variations, there are those that are essential in your jewelry. Discover the 5 types:

1. Diamond

The hardest material found in nature, the diamond is a crystal appreciated by humanity since its beginnings. To value a diamond, you must take into account the four Cs: Black Diamond: Properties, Carat, Colour, Sizes & Shapes

  • Color: is measured by the DZ method. It can vary between colorless (D to F), almost colorless (G to J), very weak yellow (K to M), weak yellow (N to R), and light yellow (S to Z);
  • Cut: lapping. Cutting and polishing the gem should maximize its brilliance;
  • Clarity: equivalent to the purity of the diamond;
  • Carat ( carat ): the more carats, the more expensive.

The surface of diamond is hydrophobic (cannot be wetted by water) and lipophilic (can be wetted and marred by oil). Tourmaline Price Per Carat, Properties, Colour, Sizes & Shapes

2. Ruby

Among natural gemstones, only diamond is ahead of you on the hardness scale. Ruby represents those born in July and, during the 17th and 18th centuries, it was very present in engagement rings because it was related to love. Between Antiquity and the Middle Ages, it was considered the most precious stone on Earth. In the Bible, it is related to beauty and wisdom. Even today, it is linked to the sacred, mysticism, and love. Discover the top 10 types of Gemstones

3. Emerald

It is the noblest variation of the beryl mineral. Although it is one of the most prized in the world, its value can decrease with the number of inclusions in its gem. It is the birthstone of May. In antiquity, the Greeks referred to the emerald as “the green goddess of all stones”, for its deep and unique coloring. Called the “love stone” by the Egyptians, it was also a symbol of fertility and reincarnation. Since those times, it was considered the mineral of unconditional love. Today, it is still widely used by Hollywood stars. Ashwagandha: What is it and what are Ashwagandha’s benefits

4. Tourmaline

It has a wide range of shades, so much so that it can be found in every color of the rainbow. This happens to be one of the most complex silicate minerals. However, the Brazilian variation (Paraíba tourmaline) is one of the best known, most expensive, and of the best quality — one-carat costs, on average, US$ 30 thousand. Discovered in the state of the same name, it is considered the rarest in the world, present only in five mines. Did you like the post? In order for more people to know these 4 types of essential gemstones in jewelry, share them on your social networks!

Leave a Reply

Related Articles

Back to top button

We need Your Help!

If you enjoy our content, please support our site by disabling your ad blocker. We depend on ad revenue to keep creating quality content for you to enjoy for free.