Find out when it is better to delete and when it is better to archive emails. The right choice can make all the difference.
What’s the difference between delete and archive?
Almost all email services offer the function of archiving and deleting emails. Both of these features remove emails from your inbox, but what happens after you’ve chosen one of the two options is different. How to Become an Archive Manager?
Knowing the difference between archiving or deleting can save you a bit of storage and save you a major headache.
What happens when an email is archived?
When an email is archived, it is removed from the inbox. However, archived emails are still available for viewing.
The location of archived emails depends on the email service provider you use. For example, in Outlook, you can find archived emails in the ‘Archived’ folder. In Gmail, you’ll need to select ‘All Mail’ to view archived emails.
Archived emails will continue to use storage space. Depending on the amount of storage space provided by your email service provider, you may consider downloading your emails to your local machine or a portable drive, or even sending them to a new account, and then deleting the emails. electronics. TOP 15 Marketing Tips on Google My Business
What happens when an email is deleted?
Just like archiving, when you delete an email, it’s also deleted from your inbox. However, instead of storing the email in a special archive folder, the email is sent to the email trash. This folder is usually called ‘Trash’ or ‘Deleted Items’, but this can vary depending on the service.
While archived emails are stored in their respective folder indefinitely, deleted emails are stored in the email trash for a short period of time.
The length of time email is stored depends on your service provider, but most popular providers keep emails in the trash for 30 days. After 30 days, the emails are (in most cases) permanently deleted.
Some services will store your deleted emails on their servers, even after you’ve “permanently” deleted them. For example, Google Workspace gives you an additional 25 days to recover deleted emails.
However, Google Workspace is a paid service and you must be the administrator to be able to recover deleted emails. Otherwise, you’ll need to contact your account manager. A guide to email marketing for small businesses
Should you archive or delete emails?
After comparing the archiving and deletion features, you might think that always archiving emails is the best option. However, if you archive everything, your email quickly becomes cluttered, making it difficult to search for old emails in a pinch.
So, for example, if you archive all your special Amazon campaign emails, when you try to search for the most recent one, it might be hard to find.
Also, as already mentioned, archived emails still consume storage space. Services like Gmail have a storage limit on their free storage tier. Once that limit is reached, you will have to increase your storage capacity, which will cost you. Email Marketing for e-commerce: where to start?
On the other hand, deleting emails can save storage space and make your email search efforts a little less painful, but once you delete an email, it’s gone forever (again, in most cases). the cases). Obviously, that won’t do you any good if you ever need to revisit an old email.
In general, archive emails that you think you’ll need to check in the future and delete the ones you’re sure you won’t need again. What Are Http Status Codes? What are their meanings?